Icon-add-to-playlist Icon-download Icon-drawer-up
Share this ... ×
By ...

On this one year anniversary of the crow radio podcast, the music of
Ross Lambert
Clara De Asis
Sergio Merce
Thomas Ankersmit

Dedicated to Shohaku Okumura


The percussion-based music of
Peter Garland / William Winant
Sarah Hennies
Masayoshi Fujita
Ted Byrnes

Episode dedicated to Travis Johnson


The third and final episode dedicated to the Circular music compositions of Jürg Frey.

A special feature of this episode is the debut broadcast of Frey's 'Orchestra Circular Music', 21 musicians recorded at the Wandelweiser Festival held in Amsterdam in February, 2017.

Episode dedicated to Michael Pisaro.


Jürg Frey / Circular Music 2011-2017

The second of three episodes dedicated to the composer’s Circular Music cycle.

CM#6 (two versions)
CM#7 (one version)
Architecture Circulaire (concert recording of the Eklekto Ensemble, Geneva, 2017)

Episode dedicated to Lucas Schleicher


Jürg Frey / Circular Music 2011-2017

The first of three episodes dedicated to the composer’s Circular Music cycle.

CM#2 (three versions)
CM#5 (two versions)
Episode dedicated to Jürg Frey


Jurg Frey’s Circular Music cycle is comprised of ten pieces composed between 2011-2017. To date eight of the pieces have been released on six CDs across several labels. Numbers four and ten have not seen a proper release. Of the eight pieces available, there are a total of 14 recordings, with multiple iterations of Circular Music #2, 5, 6 and 7. The composer himself performs on three of the pieces.

The compositions have been realized in a variety of contexts and instrumentation; piano solo, viola solo, saxophone quartet, quintet, sextet, septet, large ensemble and orchestra. Four of the works are heard in groupings of both orchestral and electronic instrumentation.

Some of the pieces are entitled ‘Extended Circular Music’, connoting Frey has revisited and reworked them in some fashion.

The next three episodes of the crow with no mouth radio podcast, the entire month of June, will be dedicated to this seemingly limitless cycle of compositions, and will include a few unreleased versions from the composer’s personal library.

The KOWS radio show air dates will be: June 2 / 16 / 30, 11:00 p.m. Pacific. As always, the programs will be available prior to their KOWS broadcast here on my Podomatic page.

The music you are hearing in this preview is Extended Circular Music #5, played by the stellar Konus Quartet.


The music of

Cristian Alvear
Taku Sugimoto
Santiago Astaburuaga
Bruno Duplant

Episode dedicated to Jon Dale


The music of

Grisha Shakhnes
Vanessa Rossetto
Chris Strickland
Byron Westbrook
Keith Fullerton Whitman

Episode dedicated to Vanessa Rossetto


The music of

Anne-Francoise Jacques
Apologist (aka Rose Rae)
Elynor Freyss

Episode dedicated to Elynor Fryss


The music of

Rafael Anton Irisarri
Mike Shiflet
Seth Chrisman & Nathan McLaughlin

Episode dedicated to Derek Walmsley


Previous Page  |  Next Page